August 2015 Wrap-Up!

Guys! Sorry again for my short absence. I need to get everything together! Anyways, today I’ll be wrapping up my reading month. I did read a lot but it still wasn’t a great reading month. I didn’t enjoy all of the books and I want to tell you about it! I read a total of 23 books, some I read during the BookTubeAThon and I talked about them in my BookTubeAThon Wrap-up. ‘If you want to know more about my thoughts about that book, you can read about it there, but here I will just tell you what I read that week and what I rated it, then tell you about the rest of the books in more detail. Hope that wasn’t too confusing.

BookTubeAThon

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

24817626

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket

78411

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Triangles by Ellen Hopkins

10843755

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

12600138

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick

10128428

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Scene: Part Three by Roxy Sloane

25763005

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

20646667

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket

78418

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

How It Went Down by Kekla Magoon

20518857

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket

438492

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Miserable Mill by Lemony Snicket

65119

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

You by Caroline Kepnes

20821614

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

And that was my BookTubeAThon! Again, if you want further details about my thoughts, I explained it further in my Wrap-Up! Let’s get into the rest of the month 🙂

The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

9673436

Oh this book was so beautiful!!! It was amazing and it is so difficult to explain in what way it was so good but it was. It followed a boy who lost his father, and the boy trying to… without spoiling, keep the memory of his father. Along the way, he meets and old man and oh I can’t explain this with words. Half of the story was told in text and half was told in pictures. It was amazingly beautiful.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

17234658

I need to be honest, I bought this one because of the cover, because look at it. It is so beautiful, but the premise was equally interesting. It follows a girl called Marguerite whose parents are physicists with amazing achievements. Her father had created the Firebird, which helped her travel between different dimensions. He was killed by his assistant Paul and Marguerite was after revenge, so they started a crazy chase between dimensions. I did not like this. Marguerite felt extremely shallow, always thinking about how handsome Paul was even though she just thought he had killed her father. Also, there was very little explanation of how the Firebird worked. I will still read the next book because I’m hoping I’ll get more explanation of it there.

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Alive by Scott Sigler

23278532

Another book that I didn’t really like. The premise was so cool! It follows a girl who wakes up in the dark, inside a coffin. She breakes out of it and finds herself in a room filled with coffins, with other people inside, dead or alive. They start looking around the place to figure out where they are, and how they got there. At first, this was such a cool book with a great mystery. Then, I read the twist. I’m trying to explain it without  spoiling the whole thing but it felt so cheap. It was not believable whatsoever and it just got out of control. I’m not sure I’ll read the next book but I was disappointed about this one.

Rating: 1.5 out of 5 stars

The Austere Academy by Lemony Snicket

131123

Okay I think this series is extremely well written, but it is not one that you can marathon during a short time span because they are pretty similar. I will finish this series eventually but I just need a break from it.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling

10335308

To be honest, I haven’t watched The Office or The Mindy Project so I didn’t know that much about Mindy’s humor. This told a few stories about Mindy and that was basically it. It wasn’t deep and I didn’t find it to be funny… Maybe if someone else has watched those shows and found her funny, they will like this more!

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

1984 by George Orwell

3744438

I am so proud of myself for reading this book. It was dense and complex, but I seriously loved it. It is set in a dystopian setting, controlled by Big Brother. Even negative thoughts were illegal and it was terrifying and scary and exciting to read. However, Animal Farm will always be my favorite George Orwell book!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

13104080

This is the next book in the Shatter Me series and oh my god Juliette. If you didn’t know, it follows a girl who can kill with her touch. I really enjoyed the first book but I didn’t find it to be amazing, and when I read this, I don’t know if I like it anymore. Juliette was so whiny in this book, and I still don’t understand why everyone loves Warner. I don’t get it.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson

21569527

I’ve finally read this! So proud of myself. This is the second book in the Remnant Chronicles, the sequel to Kiss of Deception, so I can’t tell you too much about this one without spoiling the first one. The Kiss of Deception follows a princess that escaped from her wedding, and her prince runs after her, as well as an assassin. It was exciting because you didn’t know who is who. This one was a bit slow but it was better than the first! I can’t tell you too much but it was actually really good.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Door That Led to Where by Sally Gardner

23049597

I read this because I wanted something quick and easy to read, and this was so short, so I thought it would be perfect! It was about AJ Flynn and he had just had a really bad time in school, failing miserably. He then gets a job at a law firm and finds a door that leads to year 1830. First of all, this was a book of less than 300 pages, but I felt like to much stuff that didn’t relate to each other and it was kinda weird. Some of the plot points were extremely predictable and I was disappointed.

Rating: 1.5 out of 5 stars

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

20613470

The third book in the Throne of Glass series and I’m happy I got this done! Rowan was introduced in this book and I fell in love, but I was kinda confused about Manon and those guys. I would love if anyone could explain that part to me. Celaena was equally kickass as always, and I’m so nervous about Queen of Shadows. Oooh this is exciting!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Noggin by John Corey Whaley

18051349

This book was weird and cool and extremely funny. It is about a guy called Travis Coates who got his head chopped off and years later got in put on another body. Yeah. I know how weird that sounds. What was interesting about this book was to see Travis adapt to his new surrounding. Everyone had changed, his friends were no longer teenagers, everyone had grown up but he was still the same. That was extremely interesting to read. What made me not give it a higher rating was that some of the characters were annoying. That didn’t really understand Travis and what he had gone through. It was kind of annoying to read.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

And that was it! Wow that was a very long post. How was your reading month? I would love to find out how all of you did!

Thank you for reading, and I hope you enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

