Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag!

Hello guys! I’m sorry I’ve been gone for a few days again but I’ve been totally busy with BookTubeAThon! Have you guys been participating in the BookTubeAThon? How has it been going for you? I’m kinda confused to whether I should post a BookTubeAthon Wrap-Up or wait till the end of the month and wrap everything up. We’ll see! Anyways, today I’m doing the Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag (even though it’s now August) but I really love this tag so I want to do it! It was created by ReadLikeWildFire on Youtube and A Book So Fathomless. There are quite a few questions so I’ll just dive right in.

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2015

The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

9673436

I’ve already read so many amazing books in 2015, and I just had so much trouble picking one. I have possibly a list of books who share first place, but this is one of them. What I loved about this book was that it was cute, quick, and beautiful read whilst still being different. There were amazing illustrations inside that helped tell the story and I can’t explain my thoughts about it. It was beautiful, and everyone should go and read it.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2015

Leon by Mons Kallentoft and Markus Lutteman

25333236

I’m going to have to pick a Swedish book. This is a thriller and believe me, it kept me at the edge of my seat the whole time I was reading it. It’s definitely not a book for the faint hearted and it can definitely be difficult to get through, considering some scenes are really gruesome. But the book was so well constructed and it is definitely one of my favorites of all time.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but you want to

Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson

21569527

Why has this not happened yet? It’s on my August TBR so I’ll definitely read it this month, but I’ve been waiting for this book for months and I just need to get on it! It is the sequel to The Kiss of Deception which I found to be okay for the first half and AMAZING for the second, so I have pretty high hopes for this one. The Kiss of Deception follows a princess who is supposed to be married off to a prince, but she it having none of that, and runs away. An assassin is sent after her, and the prince follow her as well. I loved that we didn’t know who was who, and that aspect of it was amazing. I want to see how the suspense is transfered to the next book!

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431

This is one that I’m really excited for because I love contemporaries with a darker, deeper theme running through it. This book is about a girl who is basically allergic to everything, and she can’t leave the house. She has been stuck inside for the last 17 years. Then one day, she notices a boy moving in next to them. I think this book will have many messages throughout it and I’m extremely excited to read it, since it seems so different to anything I’ve ever read.

5. Biggest disappointment

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

20646667

I’ve read many disappointments this year as well, but I think this was one of the biggest one. My issue with this book was that it was advertised as a psychological thriller, suspense novel. The next “Gone Girl” if you put it like that. It’s supposed to be a scary novel about kidnapping and such, and even the premise suggests that it will be scary. What I was expecting going in to this was something that would make me look over my shoulder a few times, to make sure no one is there, or something that would creep me out a bit. What I got was definitely NOT that. I got a contemporary about Stockholm Syndrome and the importance of family, which can be great in books, but this was so heavily advertised as a thriller, I got so disappointed while reading this.

6. Biggest surprise

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

24817626

This is the sequel to To Kill A Mockingbird, a classic released about 50 years ago. When there are news that Harper Lee will now release a sequel, a lot of controversy happens. Whether Harper Lee actually wanted to publish this book or not, I believe it was great. I don’t think it lived up to To Kill a Mockingbird but it is definitely not as bad as everyone states it is. I just think this was a great book.

7. Favorite new author (debut or new to you)

George R. R. Martin

18664143

Maybe I’m not entitled to say this yet because I’ve only read two of his books, but his books are huge bricks that you could kill someone with, so I think I’ve gotten a feel for his writing style. The complexity of the world of A Song of Ice and Fire and just everything about it… It amazes me. He is an absolutely GREAT author.

8. Newest fictional crush

Khalid from The Wrath and the Dawn

18798983

Yes. That serious but protective and kind-hearted personality that he doesn’t want anyone to see… yes.

9. Newest favorite character

Violet from A Series of Unfortunate Events

78411

I’ve only read 4 of the books in this series, and I’ve loved all of the three children, but Violet definitely sticks out to me. I can relate to her and she is so smart and I just love everything about her.

10. Book that made you cry

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

8621462

It is only fair to mention the book that made me cry the most. This book made me cry on hysterical level. It was such a loud crying and just… chaos all over. It is about a boy who has a mother who’s sick. A monster knocks on his window and tells him that he will visit him 3 nights and tell him 3 stories. The ending of this book… I just can’t express it. If you haven’t read this book, do. Please.

11. A book that made you happy

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

9781451666175_custom-1803757db66a3b32d07aacdd9c0a3b9bffab12d5-s99-c85

This book was just so funny… It does tell some sad stories and things that are pretty serious, but Allie Brosh did it in a way that was completely hilarious. I don’t laugh often while reading books, but I couldn’t stop laughing at this thing.

12. Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year

I feel sad for saying this, but I can’t think of any that I’ve seen and actually liked. Instead, I’ll tell you a few that I’m really excited to see. Child 44, and omg Room by Emma Donoghue. That is one I can’t wait for

13. Favorite review you’ve written this year.

I’ve only written one discussion! It’ll have to be my Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone discussion, but I’ll definitely try to do more over the next few months.

14. Most beautiful year you’ve bought this year

Under the Dome by Stephen King

6320534

This is most likely not the most beautiful book I’ve bought this year, but it is one of them. I love the colors on this cover and how it is still in a “real” setting.

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

There are soooo many that I need to read, but I’ll just show you pictures of a few.

6996360

11235712

18741152

21840310

And that’s it! How do you feel about my answers? What are your answers for some of these questions? I would love to know! I definitely loved doing this tag.

I hope you enjoyed, and thank you for reading!

3 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag!

Leave a Reply

