July Wrap-Up!

Hello again! I can’t believe it is already time to do another wrap-up, this one will definitely not be as long as in June. This month I was in a terrible reading slump, but I still managed to read a lot during the time when I wasn’t slumping. I managed to read 17 books, some very short compared to others, but let’s get right into it.

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

21393526

I did not like this book at all, I am in ways surprised that I did not give it 1 star. It follows a girl who has a disease that the doctors are not understanding. One day, the find a feather in her lung. I thought my main issue here wasn’t the main character even though I found her to be extremely annoying. But my main issue was the writing, that it was in ways trying too hard to be something it didn’t have to be. It didn’t feel natural.

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

17372039

I don’t feel like I need to say too much about this book, other than it was obviously amazing. I did a discussion on this book, and I would love for you to check it out here.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

13455782

This book follows a girl named Juliette who can kill someone with just her touch. She is put in a prison-like cell, and she meets Adam. For those of you who have read this book, why does everyone like Warner so much? I just don’t get it. Also, I liked the way it was written that some words were crossed out and stuff like that, but sometimes, I felt like the actual words were proving that Tahereh was trying so much to make it sound beautiful and poetic, that it just fell flat for me. But I still thought it was really good.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

On Writing – Stephen King

7143113

This book gives writing tips, kinda. That was what I really loved, it was more than just tips. It gave an insight on Stephen’s life, how he got into writing, his first piece he sold, etcetc. I really love this book and would recommend it to anyone, not just writers.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

991197

I feel bad for saying this because I was really hoping I’d like this book, but I did not like it at all. It is about a girl and her upgrowth in Iran. My main issue with this book was how it felt extremely preachy, and at times it was way to unrealistic for me to not roll my eyes. I felt bad giving it less than three stars, but now I’ll most likely lower the rating.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Hogwarts Library by J.K. Rowling

19438779

I don’t have that much to day about this book, except that they were completely awesome. Quidditich Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them could be a bit dragging since they are supposed to be non-fiction styles, but they were still great.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Tilt by Ellen Hopkins

11133791

As you may know, I have read several of Ellen Hopkins books and I have loved them all! Then I decided to read this one and I basically hated it… There is not a single story line, but several ones that then link together, but it was done to ambitiously, and couldn’t be done in an effective way. Also, what where the characters doing? some of the choices they made were just not understandable in any way. I just couldn’t. Sorry Ellen.

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Sugar by Deirdre Riordan Hall

24202275

This book… woow. I was so extremely offended by it. It follows a girl who is overweight. And that is basically the whole premise. Throughout the whole book, I felt like there was nothing else defining Sugar than her weight. She allowed others to bring her down for it, and that was basically it. What bothered me the most though was that she had a thousand reasons to think about her health but she didn’t do it until a guy came along. That was just not acceptable for me.

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin

18664143

This is the second book in A Song of Ice and Fire series and this was sooo good! It was tough to get through, but I definitely did enjoy it. My copy of the next book is split in two, so it will be easier to get through that one. I’m definitely excited

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Scene: Part One and Two by Roxy Sloane

25757667

This is an erotic series by Roxy Sloane, an author I have come to love recently. Her series are not always to be taken a hundred percent seriously, but I feel like they are quick reads when you need them.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Death Note: Volume 3 by Tsugumi Obha

7544944

Things are getting crazy, it is starting to drag a little bit for me. I can’t say too much about this because it’s the third volume, but what do you guys think about this manga series? I liked this volume but I’m not in the biggest rush to get the next volume

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

17286849

Ooooh man… I don’t know if the expectations were so high going in to this book or what was going on, but I didn’t like it at all… It is about a girl moving to college, having to separate from her twin sister and find new friends. Instead, she puts her effort into writing fanfiction about Simon Snow. I don’t know, I didn’t like any of the characters. I didn’t like how Wren acted when her sister needed her, or how Cath acted towards Levi. I don’t know.

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

18798983

I was so excited going in to this book because I’ve heard so many things about it, and it definitely did not disappoint. It is about a king who marries a new woman every night and then kills her at dawn. Our main character volunteers to marry the king, hoping she’ll kill him. She manages to make it through the night, but notices not everything is what it seems like. This just completely blew me away. The King, Khalid… my god. Please. And this book had the best love triangle I have ever read about. Just a million Yes to this book.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fish in a Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt

22402972

I had high hopes going into this one… It is about a young girl who can’t really read, and every time she is asked to do so, she makes trouble instead of admitting her issue. My problem with this was that to me, her inability to read was obvious already on the first page, why could trained teachers not see that immediately? I know it was written with hopes of helping others, but it felt like it was way too unrealistic.

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

And that’s it! I did read a lot, but I didn’t enjoy all the books I read. How was your reading month? I would love to know! See you soon in another post.

Thank you for reading, and I hope you enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

