July TBR

Hello Friends! I told myself to not have a too ambitious TBR for July because I read so much in June! Obviously, I failed at that, because I’m participating in 3 readathons and have a pretty ambitious pile of books I want to get to, without counting the readathon ones. So this is going to be interesting! I don’t think I’ll get to all of them but I’ll try ๐Ÿ™‚

On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King

7143113

As you may know, I’ve been trying a lot to write a novel lately. I’ve put myself on a goal to write at least 500 words per day in July, and that would give me 15.5 thousand words. Yesterday, I wrote 1400 words, meaning so far I’m doing pretty good! However, I’ve been needing some tips and motivation, and I’ve been told that this is the book to go to. It is partly a memoir of Stephen King’s life but it also gives some insight on writing, which I find to be really interesting. I’ve looked through this book a couple of times and so far, so good!

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

20613470

I read the previous book, Crown of Midnight last month, and I’m excited to continue on with this series and get caught up before Queen of Shadows is released. Crown of Midnight ended on such a high note and I can’t wait to get to this. Sarah, give me more Chaol and Celaena, please.

A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin

18664143

This book… I will not push myself too hard. It is a brick of a book, and this world is so complex, I know that if I try to push myself to read it, I will put myself in a reading slump. I’ve started reading it already and I’m about 60 pages in. So far, I’m enjoying it. I have watched the TV series but I’m really interested in seeing all the detail that George R.R. Martin must have put in to make this world.

Sugar by Deirdre Riordan Hall

24202275

This book kind of has a dark tone to it. It follows a girl who is obese. To me, being a girl who has tried to fight my overweight for almost 10 years, I feel like this will be a really emotional read, because I can already connect to the main character just by reading the synopsis. I am excited to read this though, because I feel like that is a topic that is not often discussed in YA.

American Gods by Neil Gaiman

18161930

Another huge book! Neil Gaiman has quickly become one of those authors that I want to read everything he has written. I tried listening to the audiobook of this and the narration team was amazing, but I had troubles listening because the chapters were just so long. If I had to take a break, it would be in the middle of the chapters, and when I tried listening again I would have lost my thread of thoughts. I’ll by reading it withย A Little Book Clubย and would also love for you to join. So, I’m really excited to try reading a physical copy of this book!

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

17286849

I’ve LOVED the books I’ve read by Rainbow Rowell, and so many people are saying that this is the best of her books. To be honest, I’m not a 100% sure what this is about, but I believe it is about a girl that moves to college, and how she deals with it. Rainbow Rowell is releasing a new novel this fall and it is related to this one in some way I’m not sure of. I guess I’ll have to read it and find out, because I’m so bad at giving you guys a synopsis ๐Ÿ™‚

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

17372039

This is a book that I HAVE to read for #AVeryHarrySummer. I’m so excited because when I last read it, I was reading it for #HarryXmasToYou but at that time, I was in a rush to read it and see what happens. Now I’ll be able to re-read it and see all the details that she used. I will be posting a discussion post about this book as soon as I’ve finished it.

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

13455782

I’m so excited to finally read this book! It has been optioned to become a TV show and I NEED to read the book before so I can like fan cast and stuff! I’ve heard great things about it so far. According to what I know, this follows a girl that has the ability to kill people by touching them. The government finds that she should be used as their weapon. What really makes me want to read it the most though is that there is actual friendship between a boy and a girl, without it turning into a romance. That just makes me so excited!

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

18798983

This book is a retelling of a Thousand and One Nights! I’ve been wanting to read those stories but the edition I want is so expensive. Maybe for my birthday xD I know that this book follows a king that marries a new woman every night and in dawn, she is executed. The main characters best friend was killed that way, so she volunteers with plans of killing the king, but when she marries him, she is still alive the next morning. Not everything is the way it seems… That just sounds so interesting! I’ll be reading it with Read-A-Long with PRICEISWONGย and I’m excited!

That’s my TBR for July, not counting the three readathons I’m joining! I don’t think I’ll get to all of those but I will try, and I hope that I do! Have you read any of these books? How did you feel about them? Will you be reading any of them this month? Tell me in the comments!

I hope you enjoyed, and don’t stop reading!

6 thoughts on “July TBR

Leave a Reply

