Top Ten Tuesday – Top 10 Books I’ve Read so far in 2015

Hello! I’ve recently been seeing Top Ten Tuesday posts on CK Reads blog and I’m really interested in doing this! Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and I think that this is a really fun thing to do, so I’m already excited! This week’s topic is Top 10 Books I’ve Read so far in 2015. I had troubles narrowing this down because I’ve already read so much this year. However, I managed to do this so let’s get right into it! This will be in order from 10 to my favorite so far 🙂

10. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

91cMHG1mVaL

This was a re-read for me from last year, which is why I’m putting it at number 10! I can’t say much about it without spoiling it but I can say that it’s a contemporary-mystery novel about a girl called Cadence and her mysterious Sinclair family. That is basically all I can say. After re-reading this, I put post it notes in my book on pages where there was foreshadowing. I posted a picture on Twitter of my books littered with the sticky notes. This book is just perfectly constructed and I recommend that every one reads it.

9. Identical by Ellen Hopkins

2241059

I have now read 4 Ellen Hopkins book. Some of you may know that she writes in verse, and this is the one book where I felt like it was used in such a way to mostly exaggerate and highlight the main theme. I really feel like it was done in a beautiful way. This book was difficult to get through at times since it has major trigger warnings for sexual abuse, incest and self harm,  but if you like dark contemporaries, I definitely recommend this one!

8. Animal Farm by George Orwell

Unknown-4

This book shocked me so much. It is about a farm where the animals start a revolution because they think they are being treated unfairly, and the farmer is kicked out. The animals then have to decide on a new leader and you could see their system crumbling together. It was beautifully done and I got so much out of this story. My edition was only 95 pages long but it was a true gem.

7. The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

9777

I read this book for school and it was a true rollercoaster for me! At first, I wasn’t liking it at all. I got to the middle and my interest really peeked, but it wasn’t a favorite yet. Then I got to the ending and I was hooked. A friend of mine recommended re-reading the first chapter and it ended up with me reading the whole book in a sitting. It was just so good. It takes place in India and it follows two twins, Estha and Rahel, from their childhood and then as grown ups, and you could see that something had changed in the time gap. This was actually the book that inspired the story that I’m currently writing! It was absolutely amazing

6. Leon by Mons Kallentoft and Markus Lutteman

25333236

This is the second book in the Herkules series, a series written in Swedish. I won’t go into much detail about it because I know that many of you won’t be able to read it because of the language barrier. I read the first book as soon as it came out last year because the cover drew me in. I LOVED that book. I then got this book as soon as it was up for pre-order and I think I read it in one day. I loved it even more. It was just so goood!

5. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

17788401

I listened to the audibook of this whilst walking to my finals. As I was waiting for them to open the doors, I was still listening. Then I got to the sad part, and I cried. In public, whilst waiting for my exams. I walked in and I was still crying. This was just amazing. I was so sceptical at first but I couldn’t put it down. This is about Tate who meets a guy named Miles and she falls in love. But he has some… issues from the past. Omg I’m almost crying right now.

4. Grey by E. L. James

25644601

As you all may know, the Fifty Shades trilogy is my favorite trilogy of all time. It was interesting seeing this story from Christian’s point of view, and I really liked that this book highlighted some of the points I’ve been trying to make about this series. I can’t talk to much about it but if you’re interested, I would love to tell you more about my thoughts about the series in general!

3. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

20560137

This book. This. Freaking. Book. Okay, at first, it was a really slow read for me, and I had troubles getting into it. Once I did, I flew through it like nobody’s business. It was so good! It is a fantasy book about Laia, a slave trying to save her brother from getting killed, and Elias, a soldier. They were like two love triangles weaved in together in this book, and I loved that. It was just so amazingly written, and I’m so happy there’ll be a sequel soon!

2. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824

This is about a girl called Feyre who lives in a world that is divided between humans and Faeries. Feyre accidentally kills a Fae without realizing it, and she is to live in the faerie land. Romance ensues of course, but so does amazing friendship, and I absolutely loved that about this book! There is so much going on in this book, and even though it is filled with romance, there was also so much action that kept me at the edge of my seat. I loved this book so much and definitely recommend it.

DRUM ROLL PLEASE!

1. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

8621462

What do I even say about this book? It’s amazing. My edition includes illustrations which makes this story so much more beautiful than it already is. It follows Conor who has to deal with his mother’s illness, something that is bothering him. One day, a monster knocks on his window and promises him 3 stories. These 3 stories teach you so much, and so does Conor’s reaction. I’m not making this book any justice, but just trust me on this one. It is absolutely amazing. I can’t wait to read more by this author!

And that’s it! What do you think? What 10 books are your favorites so far? Tell me in the comments, I would definitely like to discuss your favorites with you! Have you read any of my top 10? What did you think? Let’s discuss!

I hope you enjoy and that you have a great night, and don’t stop reading 🙂

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top 10 Books I’ve Read so far in 2015

Leave a Reply

