June Wrap-Up #4

Wooow I believe this is the last part… I’ll wrap up my June with 42 books! I’m pretty proud if I may say so myself. I’ll try to post my July TBR tomorrow but I’m not sure how I’ll do it because I’m participating in so many readathons and such. We’ll see how it goes!

Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

15994498

I read this book during #crushyourtbr and it is a book about split personality. I did not like this book. It was not very accessible, and I was confused throughout the whole thing about who was who and so on. However, I couldn’t give it a one-star rating because I believe the issue was my own language, and that English is not my first language. I think I would have liked this book more had I read it for school or with a friend with whom I would discuss it. I’ll try to re-read it later on in my life and see what I think!

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

2808945

This is the second book I read during the readathon, and this was soooo good! It follows Coraline who finds kind of an alternate world in her house, which leads to a house that looks exactly like hers and a family like hers too. They want her to stay with them. I don’t know how Neil does it but he writes in a way that feels like children literature without dumbing everything down. It was so well constructed and eerie, whilst still keeping a young tone.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

15783514

This was my third read for the readathons, and if you read my TBR, you know that I knew nothing about this book when going into it. When I started reading, I was confused at first. I had no idea what I was getting. I wasn’t really drawn to the main story, it was okay, but it didn’t pull me right in. However, the language and the construction of the novel was so good. I wish that there had been a trigger warning for a certain scene, where the main character goes through something troubling with his father. It made me cringe and I wish I had know a bit about it.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

Unknown-3

This book was my last read for the readathon and it was definitely my favorite I read during those 24 hours. A man owns a bookstore and he is grieving the death of his wife. A baby is then left on the step to the bookstore. There is not much to say about it because it feels like a very character-driven book. Just know that it is beautiful and it brought me to tears. Just read it.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

8621462

I’m desperately trying not to cry until I finish this post because just thinking about this books makes my teary eyed. I read it during #readorama! It is about a boy, Conor that lives with his mother. His father lives with his new family in the United States, not giving Conor too much attention. Conor’s mother is ill, and he has to deal with it. A monster suddenly visits and Conor is promised 3 stories, and Conor then has to tell “the truth”. This book was just so beautiful, it was difficult to handle. I was crying so hard, and I knew immediately this was going to be one of my favorites of this year. Definitely read this one.

Rating: 5 (10000) out of 5 stars

Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw

12230

I read this one during #readorama but also for #FiveFaves. It is a play that I read about a year ago for school and I loved it back then. Here’s the thing… I still like this book very much. But I think what I liked the most last time was discussing it with others in school. That’s why I didn’t like it as much this time. However, I still recommend it, but I would maybe not consider it a favorite of mine!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Sexed into Submission by Julie Bailes

22888778

This is an erotic novel, and it was recommended to me by Judith over at Bookdr3ams, definitely check her out! This book… surprised me so much. It is about a stripper named Piper and she meets a man named Ryder. That is what I liked the most… She didn’t act like a shy girl who had no experience, she was a full experienced girl, and that is something that is not talked about often in erotic fiction, most of the time she’s even a virgin. I really liked that this book stood out to me in that way. However, the sex didn’t really do it for me. It was too BDSM at times, but it was still an overall enjoyable read.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Confess by Colleen Hoover

22609310

Well… I finished this book less than an hour ago. I believe I need to buy all of Colleen Hoover’s books now. This follows Auburn and how she meets Owen when looking for a job. He kind of runs his own art gallery where people can make confessions and he uses confessions as his inspiration for his paintings. Both have secrets, and they are slowly revealed in the book, and they make you love the characters so much. There are pictures and art in the book that are absolutely stunning. If any of you know if I can get a print of them, please let me know. I’m not explaining this book very well but it was amazing in so many ways. If you like contemporary and art or any of the two, read this book!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

That’s it, that’s my June wrap-up! That was a lot… How did you do this month? Did you like the books you read? Tell me down below, I would love to know.

I hope you enjoyed and that this wrap-up wasn’t to boring! Don’t stop reading šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “June Wrap-Up #4

  1. This is probably my fave wrap-up yet!

    1. I really want to read Dr. Jekkel and Mr. Hyde! I think whenever I do I will message you so we can discuss it!

    2. I’ve yet to read a Gaiman book but both look amazing! I almost bought Coraline at a second hand store but couldn’t find a nice enough copy! šŸ˜¦

    3. So glad you read A monster Calls, The storied life and confess! I adore all three soooo much!!!!

    4. I can’t believe you already read Sexed into Submission! I haven’t finished it yet only started it! I hope I enjoy it. I usually don’t mind much BDSM but we’ll see! šŸ™‚

    I swear reading you wrap-ups make me want to step up my game and read more next month!!!

    Like

    • 1. My god I would love that!! Definitely tell me when you do!
      2. It was amazing, both of them were! I’m so excited to see the movie adaptation of Coraline and see how it’s all translated!
      3. A Monster Calls and Confess really stuck with me, especially the ending of A Monster Calls. Broke my heart. In Confess, I loved that there were art pieces in the book. That was just amazing, and they were so beautiful!
      4. I read it as soon as you told me about it and I read it in one sitting! It was a really interesting read, really different from the others I’ve read. So thank you for telling me about it!
      Haha I usually don’t read this much! I don’t know how that happened!! :O I’ll probably only read like one book next month because I tired myself out :’) ā¤

      Like

Leave a Reply

