June Wrap-Up #2

It’s 3 AM know that I’m writing this… If this is completely weird, that’s probably why. Anyways, Judith, my lovely friend whose blog you should check out, requested a post so here it is! Part 2 of my June Wrap-Up!

 Make Good Art by Neil Gaiman

16240792

In 2012, Neil Gaiman held a speech at Philadelphia’s University about writing, about strength and courage when creating, about his own writing. This speech… As soon as I finished it, I opened of the documents to one of the novels I’m currently writing and I just wrote whatever came to mind. It sparked that reaction within me and made me found my love for writing again. This is such a good motivational speech from a great author!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Club Prive: Book II by M.S. Parker

21945635

This book is an erotic, and it was so much like every single erotic book that it just didn’t stand out in any way. But this series actually feels creepy because of Gavin, the hero in the book. I mean he actually stalks her. Last time I checked, “No” means “No” even in books. I don’t know, it just wasn’t outstanding and it was too cheesy at times.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

 Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

17167166

This is the second book in the Throne of Glass series and I will therefore not describe the plot of this one because I don’t want to spoil you. Basically, this series is about Celaena Sardothien, a young woman who was captured as an assassin and put at a death camp. She gets an opportunity to get her freedom by entering a competition to become the King’s Champion, work for him for three years and then gain her freedom. If the first book was good, this book was AMAZING. I was engrossed in the story and that love triangle that’s killing me. But omg that ending. That ending. Read this series!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

For His Pleasure #1-7 by Kelly Favor

15709104

This… No. I got a box set of this series, from book 1-10 on my Kindle from one of my friends because she knows I usually enjoy erotics and she really wanted me to finish and tell her my thoughts but I gave up. The instalove in these books just killed me. This is about Nicole who works for Red but out of nowhere he is suddenly interested in her but he treats her like a prostitute, basically. And she apologizes to him for treating her that way. After they’ve met maybe 3 times she loves him and decides that she should marry him. That’s not how it works. Some of these I enjoyed more than others but I couldn’t give any book higher than a 2 star rating.

Rating: 1.5 out of 5 stars

Paper Towns by John Green

6442769-1

This book follows a guy named Quentin who’s kind of always been in love with a girl named Margo, even though she’s not interested. One day, when her boyfriend cheats on her, she uses Quentin to avenge him, and the next day, runs away. My main issue with this book was Margo. I didn’t understand why she did the things she did, why she ran away, why she used him the way she did. I didn’t understand Quentin either, why he cared so much about him when she obviously didn’t. I believe that The Fault in Our Stars is a much better book compared to this one!

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

9781451666175_custom-1803757db66a3b32d07aacdd9c0a3b9bffab12d5-s99-c85

This book was so funny. Even though it dealt with dark topics such as depression and social anxiety, it was done in a way that it was understandable without being overbearing. It is Allie’s story, kind of like a memoir, each chapter following a certain aspect of her life. I’m telling you, you should read this book. I can’t count how many times I laughed out loud.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Goth Girl and The Pirate Queen by Chris Riddell

25087867

This book is in a way a short story relating to the Goth Girl series but it does not have to be read as a part in order to understand the concept. This series follows a girl, Ada that lives with father in a castle and the adventures she experiences. What I mostly love about this series is that it can be read by both children and adults, since adults will get so many of the references that are made throughout the series!

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

In Real Life by Cory Doctorow

20575446

This book is a graphic novel, and it is about a girl, Anda, that plays a video game online. However, one day, she befriends a boy who is breaking some of the strict rules of the game, but from what she understands, it is something he needs to do to stay alive. She faces a dilemma of whether she should report him or leave him do what he needs to do. What I did not like about this graphic novel was that it was confusing at times. I had to look up the synopsis and once I did, the story was understood a lot better. I was confused when I went in completely blind!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I think that’ll be it for now! I’m getting sleepy. Have you read any of these books? What did you think about them? I’ll try to post more in the morning.

I hope you enjoyed, and don’t stop reading!

2 thoughts on “June Wrap-Up #2

  1. Thank you for the post and the shout out!!! ❤

    I felt that same way about Paper Towns. Like always I loved John Green's writing but I could not for the life of me figure out why Q liked Margo. I just didn't like her as a person at all. I felt the same way about Alaska, actually I Kind of hated her. My two top books by him so far are TFIOS and then An Abundance of Katherines which I think is so underrated! I loved it and most people don't haha

    Like

    • Hi!!! 🙂
      I’ve only read TFIOS, Paper Towns, and An Abundance of Katherines. I don’t really enjoy An Abundance of Katherines that much but it was an okay read. I loved TFIOS so much because I feel like it is different from his other novels and the characters are different. I want to read Looking for Alaska now that they’ve said there’s going to be a movie but… For me, that can take a while. I have so many books higher up on my priority 😁

      Like

Leave a Reply

