June wrap-up #1

Okay you guuuys… This is my first time doing a wrap up post, but my June wrap-up will be divided into several parts because… It’s the 26th of June, meaning I have a few more days to read, and I’ve already read 36 books. 36 BOOKS! Yes, some of them were short stories and some of them were speeches and graphiv novels etcetc but 36 books. I’m pretty proud of myself.

However, a 36 book-long post would be waaaay too long for anybody to read, so I’ll try to split this baby up!

1. Animal Farm by George Orwell

Unknown-4

Animal Farm is a classic written by the genius George Orwell, about a farm where the animals feel like they are being treated poorly by the landowner. They start a revolution to better their position and create a farm with equal rights. However, you can see their plan being shattered and how they are betrayed. I cannot describe how much I love this book. I think it is absolutely genius, with important messages and with humorous whilst still effective critique towards communism and capitalism. Would definitely recommend it, it can be read in half a day.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

2. Box 21 by Roslund & Hellström

20807249

As some of you may know, I live in Sweden, and this is a book written in Swedish and it takes place in Sweden. This is basically about two girls, Lydia and Alena, who are lured to Sweden from Lithuania and become sex slaves. Obviously, it deals with a dark topic, but I don’t think it was done very well. It dragged very much at times, and I felt like the main focus was the investigation and the police rather than the girls’ stories. However, I did enjoy it, it just wasn’t the best book I’ve read that covers this topic.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

3. The Martian by Andy Weir

18007564

This book is about a man who is left alone on Mars after his crew believed he died. Yes. I know. So intense. What I did not like about this book was the amount of scientific language that was used. I had troubles understanding that since it is not something that I am merely familiar with. However, the main idea was still understandable. What I absolutely loved about this book was the main character, Mark Watney and how freaking funny he was. I can tell you I laughed out loud several times whilst reading this. Would definitely recommend it.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

4. Seductive nights #1-3 by Lauren Blakely

19300203

This will be very brief because to be honest, I don’t have very much to say about this series. It didn’t make that big of an impression on me, but it was a fun and quick read. This is about a woman, Julia, who meets Clay Nichols, and they start a relationship. My biggest issue with this was that it was not very realistic. However, not many erotic series are realistic. Maybe it isn’t always supposed to be. But what I really liked about this series in particular is that when Julia faces a problem, it is not all put in the hands of Clay to fix. Instead, he gives her a way for him to HELP her, whilst still letting her do the job. I liked that about the series.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

5. Torrent by Gemma James

21827600

Another erotic book, however, this one had a much darker tone to it. As for Seductive Nights, I didn’t take this book too seriously. I read it as a quick and fun read, which I feel like it accomplished really well. This is about Rafe Mason, who one day kidnaps Alex, the woman who put him in prison for several years for a crime he didn’t commit. Here was my biggest issue… Alex seemed to have no remorse whatsoever for the years of pain she put Rafe through. We got a reason for why she did it but I didn’t think that was a very good reason. I felt like she acted stupidly. It was, as I said, a quick read, even though it was as unrealistic as it was.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

6. If You Dare by Evelyn Troy

25010379

An erotic series that I definitely did not like. I have no issues with reading BDSM, but at times, scenes in this book felt like rape. She was treated like a prostitute, and she never said a word about it. She was handcuffed without her permission, and when she said no, he stated that she didn’t mean that. Just no. Not a good portrayal of BDSM

Rating: 1.5 out of 5 stars

7. Very Good Lives by J.K. Rowling

23731881

This is a bind up of a speech that was help by J.K. Rowling at Harvard 2008. I don’t know what to say about this book more than “Just read it”. It motivated me to do things, to write books, to travel, to see the world, but still not be too disappointed if not everything turns out the way I’m hoping it will. Rowling is amazing through and through.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

8. Death Note Volume 1 by Tsugumi Obha

6345999

I have read a few graphic novels but I’ve never read a manga before. My copy is a bind up of volume 1 and 2, so I get a bit more of the story. I loved this, and found it to be a great introduction to the series. This is about a guy named Light who stumbles upon a notebook in which if you write the name of a person, the person dies. Light uses the notebook to kill criminals in hopes of creating a better world. To the rest of the world, Light is now known as Kira, and the police is trying to find him in order to stop him. It just turned crazy. I mean, the story is so dark, and in one way, I love seeing his doubled morality about criminals and such. I’m looking forward to continuing on.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

9. In Flight by R.K. Lilley

16134782

This is another erotic series and to be honest, I didn’t like this book but I’m not sure I know why. It was okay, but I felt like the characters could be really annoying at times, without any reason. It is about Bianca who works as a flight attendant and meets James Cavendish, a hot billionaire, yada yada. It felt like the relationship didn’t develop in the beginning but out of nowhere it took a deep plunge and changed. I would have liked a slow development more.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

That’s it for now! I’ll post part 2 tomorrow, and we’ll see how many parts there’ll be later on when the month is up. Have you read any of these books? What did you feel about them? Tell me in the comments below!

I hope you enjoyed, and don’t stop reading!

Leave a Reply

