#CrushYourTBR

Crush Your TBR is a readathon hosted by Raeleen from padfootandprongs07 on Youtube and Jacquelyn. The readathon has a twitter account and can be found here. This round it is a 24-hour readathon, from June 26th 12 am your time, to June 26th 11:59 pm. I am not sure whether I will complete all of my TBR books since I have a rather ambitious pile, but I am hoping to stay up the whole night and read. Here is what I plan!

1. Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

This is a classic, and unfortunately, I don’t read very many classics. I was first drawn to the cover of this book because I love the Penguin English Library editions, but when I found out the premise of this book, I was even more intrigued. This is the story of a man with split personality, Dr Jekyll is a respected doctor and Edward Hyde is a mysterious killer. If that doesn’t sound interesting, I am not sure what does. My edition is only 110 pages long, so I can fly through it.

2. The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

This is the longest of my TBR books, with 243 pages. However, I have heard so many great things about this book. This is a story about a man that owns a failing bookshop and shortly after the death of his wife, a baby is left on his doorstep with a note. That just sound heartbreaking and beautiful.

3. Coraline by Neil Gaiman

I recently read Nail Gaiman’s Make Good Art Speech and it inspired me to a great extent. Know I’m really interested in reading his other works. I’ve only read The Graveyard Book before and wasn’t a big fan. However, this is so short, only 162 pages. When I flip through the book, I find beautiful illustrations. This is about a girl that find a house just like hers, with a family just like hers, however, something is different. It sounds eerie but cute since it follows a young girl. I have the movie and will watch it after I’ve read the book!

4. The Ocean and the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

As I stated, I want to read more of Neil Gaiman’s books. To be completely honest, I don’t know much about this book. I think it is about a middle aged man who visits the town he grew up in, but that’s basically all, and I would like to keep it that way. It gives it a mysterious feel.

That’s it! I hope you enjoy. Will you be participating in #CrushYourTBR? I really would like to see more blog posts or Youtube videos about it, so if you have a TBR up, comment and I’ll check it out!

I hope you enjoy, and don’t stop reading!

Leave a Reply

