#FiveFaves TBR

Hello!

There are so many tags and blog posts that I want to put up but since summer is here, I think it is time for me to post my #FiveFaves TBR. #FiveFaves was created by Maureenkeavy on Youtube and the idea is to re-read 5 of you favorite books throughout the months of June, July and August. I will use the hashtag #FiveFaves in order to discuss the books I’m reading on Twitter. Without further ado, these are the books that I plan to read (They might change though. You never know with me)

1. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

91cMHG1mVaL

I have already started re-reading this book. I am about 60 pages in but I’ve put about 20 post its because it is constructed so beautifully. I read this book at the end of last year and it blew me away. I won’t be describing the premise of this book because it is best to go into it without knowing much about it. Now I’m noticing the metaphors and the foreshadowing so clearly during my second read.

2. Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

Unknown-2

This book is the first (and probably the only book) that has ever made me question obvious moral viewpoints in our society. It deals with Lochan and Maya, siblings, who fall in love. It made me question whether incest is as bad as it sounds, and that is the power of language and good writing. I can’t wait to re-read it, even though I know it will shatter my heart to pieces

3. Forgive me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

13477676

This book is almost 300 pages long and I read it in less than a day. I was hooked from page one. However, this has major themes of suicide and self-harm, and if it is a topic that is difficult to read, this won’t be the right book for you. This is about a depressed boy that decides to bring a gun to his school and kill his former best friend and after that, kill himself. The main character kept me at the edge of my seat because in a way he was so… relatable. His depression was obvious, but so was his willingness to get out of it.

4. Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw

12230

Usually, when I read a book for school, it is automatically ruined for me. However, this was amazing on so many levels. It is a play based on the legend of Pygmalion that falls in love with his female statue. However, in this play, Eliza Doolittle is taught how to act lady-like and the about consequences she faces after she has reached her goal. I am excited to re-read it for pleasure rather than for school.

5. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

12700353

This is definitely one of the funniest books I have read and as a celebration for the movie coming up, I’ll try to re-read it. Greg tries to be invisible at his school, close enough friend with everyone to not be bullied but not close enough to be noticed or close to anyone. He has one friend, Earl, whom he makes amateurish recreations of popular movies with. His mother then forces him to befriend Rachel, a girl diagnosed with leukemia. What I mostly appreciated with this book was that there was such a big emphasis on friendship, and I look forward to re-visit that.

That’s it, that is my TBR for #FiveFaves. Will you participate? If you do, link me to a blog post or comment and tell me what you plan to read!

I hope you enjoy, and don’t stop reading!

2 thoughts on “#FiveFaves TBR

Leave a Reply

